Skip to main content

Acknowledgement of First Peoples

We acknowledge and honour the Giabal and Jarowair peoples of the Toowoomba area; the Jagera, Yuggera and Ugarapul peoples of the Springfield and Ipswich areas; the Butchulla people of the Maryborough areas; and the Kambuwal people of the Stanthorpe area as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the lands and waterways where the University of Southern Queensland is located. 

Further, we acknowledge the cultural diversity of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and pay respect to Elders past, present and future.

We celebrate the continuous living cultures of First Australians and acknowledge the important contributions Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people have and continue to make in Australian society. 

The University respects and acknowledges our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, staff, Elders and Indigenous visitors who come from many nations.


USQ campus locations and language groups