Skip to content

The Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize

The 2019 competition dates are being set.

The 2019 competition dates have not been announced yet. If you would like to receive an email when the competition opens, please email

Thank you to everyone who entered the 2018 Prize. We had over 1000 poems submitted demonstrating the continued enthusiasm for poetry in Australia. Congratulations to our 2018 winner, Natalie D-Napoleon. 

As an Australian poet, your contribution shapes our culture. None believed this more so than Emeritus Professor Bruce Dawe AO, one of Australia’s most acclaimed contemporary poets. Professor Dawe believed that universities should support the study of literature and promote the Arts in Australian society. His decision to sponsor this prominent Literary Prize is ongoing, living proof of his conviction. This annual $2500 prize has been generously endowed by Emeritus Professor Dawe to celebrate Australian poetry.

Further information

For further information, please email

Congratulations Natalie! 

View Natalie's winning entry 'First Blood: A Sestina' and the highly commended entrants Shona Hawkes, Anne Kellas and Louise Wakeling.

View winning entries

Study Creative and Critical Writing